Andrey Kurpatov "Can the brain make us happy?"

11.10.2018

Andrey Vladimirovich Kurpatov, doctor-psychotherapeutist, president of the High School of Methodology, founder of the intellectual cluster "Games of the Mind", the author of more than 100 scientific works, 12 monographs and more than 30 popular science books on psychotherapy, philosophy and methodology with a total circulation of more than 5 million copies and translated into 8 languages.

Short regalia: Andrey Vladimirovich Kurpatov, doctor-psychotherapeutist, president of the High School of Methodology, founder of the intellectual cluster "Games of the Mind"

"Can the brain make us happy?"

The brain is not just the most mysterious organ of our body. He is what we are — one and a half kilogram of nervous tissue, completely isolated from the outside world. Recent scientific studies have shown that we do not make decisions on our own, everything is solved by the brain, the personality is a bluff, and the power of will is a myth… Not surprisingly, we cannot manage our lives. We feel dissatisfied, we hail in the clouds, and we are worried… We live well, as if everything we have — so what is the brain lack for happiness?

There is a trouble with happiness: nobody saw it, but all of us struggle trying to sell it to us. Advertising shows an image of an absolutely happy person: a kind of joyful fool, smiling widely, offers his family sweet corn flakes. Shelves are stuffed with books, YouTube-bloggers share the secrets of happy life, and social networks are cited with quotations on how to achieve happiness. Is this "happiness" real?

Neurophysiology and other fields of science have prepared unexpected answers for us. Is the brain capable of being happy, and how to make us happy?

The answer is on the lecture of Andrey Kurpatov on October 11 at The Royal Geographical Society, London

Андрей Курпатов «Может ли мозг сделать нас счастливыми?»

11.10.2018

Андрей Владимирович Курпатов, врач-психотерапевт, президент Высшей школы методологии, основатель интеллектуального кластера «Игры разума», автор более 100 научных работ, 12 монографий и более 30 научно-популярных книг по психотерапии, философии и методологии общим тиражом более 5 млн. экземпляров и переведённых на 8 языков.

Короткие регалии: Андрей Владимирович Курпатов, врач-психотерапевт, президент Высшей школы методологии, основатель интеллектуального кластера «Игры разума».

«Может ли мозг сделать нас счастливыми?»

Мозг — не просто самый загадочный орган нашего тела. Он и есть мы сами — полтора килограмма нервной ткани, полностью изолированные от внешнего мира. Недавние научные исследования показали: мы не принимаем решения самостоятельно, всё решает мозг, личность — блеф, сила воли — миф… Неудивительно, что у нас не получается управлять своей жизнью. Чувствуем себя неудовлетворёнными, витаем в облаках, тревожимся… Живём неплохо, вроде бы всё есть — так чего же не хватает мозгу для счастья?

Со счастьем беда: его никто не видел, но все наперебой пытаются нам его продать. Реклама демонстрирует образ абсолютно счастливого человека: этакий радостный дурачок, широко улыбаясь, предлагает своей семье сладкие кукурузные хлопья. Полки забиты книгами, YouTube-блогеры делятся секретами счастливой жизни, соцсети пестрят цитатами о том, как достичь счастья. Вот только есть ли это «счастье» на самом деле?

Нейрофизиология и другие области науки приготовили для нас неожиданные ответы. Способен ли мозг быть счастливым, и как сделать счастливыми нас?

Ответ узнайте на лекции Андрея Курпатова 11 октября на площадке Royal Geographical Society в Лондоне.